top of page
  • Dani

The Art of Journeying


Over the years I've found myself on a huge number of cross country train journeys. Whether that's going back and forth between home and uni, visiting friends at the opposite end of the country, or embarking on adventures.

On these journeys, no matter how long, I'm quite happy to put my headphones in, turn on my iPod and just watch the world go by. There are so many amazing and beautiful things to see from the seat of a train, particularly when travelling through the British countryside.

Whilst on these journeys, I have one particular habit. Being the photographer that I am I can't help but feel the need to take pictures of the views that amazing me as I go past. For this reason my main photography tool ends up being my iPod touch.

My trusty iPod, being of Apple technology quality, tends to do a good job of capturing the views on my journey. I don't even mind that most of the images are blurry as they represent the movement of the train and the passing of the landscape, and I don't mind the odd obstruction in my images from marks on the glass. I also love the option to take the photos in the shape of a square as I love the way it frames the landscape.

Here are some of the photos I've taken on these travels. I haven't really shared them before because they aren't to the same level of quality as those I take with my Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60 or Nikon D3200. However I love the uniformity of the square shape and it's reference back to Polaroid photography.

Not only do these images capture the moment, they also bring about inspiration and nostalgia. Therefore a once considered 'boring' and 'long' train journey, becomes an interesting and enjoyable one. Why not give it ago and send me some of your photographs?

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page