top of page
  • Dani

Buttermere


One of my favourite places in the Lake District is Buttermere. It offers a stunning natural landscape and views that have inspired famous artists such as J.M.W Turner into creating atmospheric artworks in oil on canvas. It is also one of easiest walks in the Lakes, a particular reason for it being my favourite. The relatively flat walk around the lake takes around two hours and includes hill side views, a walk through a small cave and sheep.

The name Buttermere is said to either derive from Old English meaning 'the lake by the dairy pastures' because of its fertile land. Or from the name of an 11th century Nordic Chieftain called 'Bulthar'. This is based on the fact many other words in the Cumbian dialect come from Norse origin - 'becks' (rivers) from the Norse 'bekkr', 'fells' (hills) from the Norse 'fjall', and 'tarns (small lakes) from the Norse term 'tjorn', to name a few.

Here's a photo I took the other day -

The lighting wasn't the best on the day so I decided to edit it on Pixlr. I edited the levels of the photo, and increased exposure and saturation and got this -

I don't normally play with the exposure of a photograph but this time I decided to test it out. Increasing saturation and contrast of the image has, I feel, made it into a more interesting image. The bright contrast of the white sky and reflection against the colour of the grass and hills turns it into a rather contemporary image.

Would be nice to have feedback so please let me know in the comment section below! :)

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page